MMFF Winners #2016

The stars of different Metro Manila Film Festival

sections (clockwise from upper left): Julia Barretto, Paolo Ballesteros, Rhian Ramos, JC de Vera, Maris Racal and Ronnie Alonte. (Photographs by Yummie Dingding/InterAksyon)

More change is going to the Metro Manila Film Festival.

Taking after the fabulous dispatch of the 42nd release of the yearly Yuletide film celebration named as “Commencement to MMFF 2016” that formally presented its eight authority sections at the SM North EDSA Skydome last Saturday, two more noteworthy changes in the celebration were affirmed to InterAksyon.

To begin with is that the MMFF Awards Night or Gabi ng Parangal initially booked to happen at the tailend of the celebration on January 8 at the Kia Theater in Quezon City has been moved back to December 29.

The early honors night is huge as it is required to help the movies execution of the triumphant movies.

Second is that, yes, the standard Parade of Stars will in any case occur on December 23, yet this time on a littler, more straightforward scale. MMFF official advisory group part Edward Cabagnot told InterAksyon that by less difficult, it signifies “littler buoys, shorter course.”

“Less difficult means no excellent buoys. Standard size ng sasakyan ang gamit at dedesignan nila. Occasion closes at court miranda. The subject is solidarity this year. Mas fortified and “together” ang 8 passages rather than patalbugan,” included Film Development Council of the Philippines seat Liza Diño-Seguerra.

The FDCP will work intimately with the MMFF during the current year’s celebration. Notwithstanding co-facilitating the “Commencement to MMFF 2016,” the FDCP will screen of the celebration’s authentic passages at its Cinematheque scenes all around the nation and also a review of the a portion of the best movies from past versions.

The current year’s celebration is a radical takeoff from past versions of the MMFF. The determination advisory group settled on the proactive choice to pick in fact magnificent movies that concentrate on the nature of its story and creation, instead of business suitability and the draw of its star entertainers.

In any case, while the current year’s MMFF does not have the stellar nearness of any semblance of Vic Sotto, Vice Ganda, Coco Martin, Kris Aquino and Ai-Ai delas Alas, the celebration is not by any stretch of the imagination ailing in star influence as it likewise gloats of built up names like Superstar Nora Aunor and looked for in the wake of driving man JC de Vera from “Kabisera,” and the collaborate of Eugene Domingo and Jericho Rosales from “Ang Babae sa Septic Tank Part 2: Forever is Not Enough.”

Additionally anticipated that would be breakout stars of the current year’s MMFF are Paolo Ballesteros of “Kick the bucket Beautiful,”; the youthful leads of Vince and Kath and James specifically Julia Barretto, Joshua Garcia, Maris Racal and Ronnie Alonte, who likewise plays the lead in “Seklusyon” alongside other promising newcomers Dominic Roque, JR Versales, and John Vic de Guzman.

“Sunday Beauty Queen” took the crown for Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF)‘s Gabi ng Parangal at the Kia Theater in Cubao, Quezon City last December 29. It was the first documentary film to have won the competition.

“Seklusyon” took out the big guns and won 7 major awards, with Erik Matti winning Best Director.

Best Actor went to Paolo Ballesteros for playing a transgender in “Die Beautiful” while Irma Adlawan was awarded Best Actress for her barangay captain role in “Oro.”

  • Short Film – Best Screenplay – Mitatang
  • Short Film – Special Jury Prize – Manila Scream
  • Short Film – Best Picture – EJK
  • Best Float from the Parade of Stars 2016- Die Beautiful
  • My Most Favorite Film Award – Die Beautiful
  • Children’s Choice – Vince and Kath and James, Saving Sally, and Sunday Beauty Queen
  • Best Sound Design – Seklusyon
  • Best Musical Scoring – Saving Sally
  • Best Original Theme song – Dominus Miserere of Seklusyon
  • Best Production Design – Seklusyon
  • Best Editing – Sunday Beauty Queen
  • Best Cinematography – Seklusyon
  • Male Celebrity of the Night – Ronnie Alonte
  • Female Celebrity of the Night – Rhian Ramos 
  • Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award – Oro
  • Best Screenplay – Seklusyon
  • Best Director – Erik Matti (Seklusyon)
  • Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award – Sunday Beauty Queen
  • Best Supporting Actor – Christian Bables (Die Beautiful)
  • Best Supporting Actress – Phoebe Walker (Seklusyon)
  • Special Jury Prize – Rhed Bustamante (Seklusyon)
  • Best Picture – Sunday Beauty Queen
  • Best Actor – Paolo Ballesteros (Die Beautiful) 
  • Best Actress – Irma Adlawan (Oro)
Please follow and like us:
Follow by Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *